top of page

This is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things

Updated: Feb 23, 2023

The Justice card came up in almost every reading I did for myself over the last few weeks.


In the context of other “walking away” cards, it seemed to mean that something was out of balance.


Usually, in a relationship, I’m the one who tries to make everything okay. I’ll even convince myself that I’m okay when I’m not. I’ll laugh off certain scenarios then realize later that they upset me.


Then, all of the not-okay moments build and build until I have to step away. It’s like, all my little boundary-setting failures result in having to set one big boundary successfully.


Like, I can’t stop myself from eating cookies each night, so now I can’t buy them at all.


(This is why we can’t have nice things…)


And, in a relationship, if I can’t find a partner who is willing to help me set healthy boundaries (which is really my job) or, even worse, if they’re a classic boundary-breaker, I end up having to unsubscribe from the relationship.


I feel both weak and strong in those moments.


23 views0 comments
bottom of page