top of page

Gretchen Kelly, and the Search for the Stolen Teddy

Page 1

When I took my mug of chai out of the microwave this afternoon, there was a heart swirling in the foam.


I’m tired. The past few weeks have taken a toll on all of us. We’ve had the flu and multiple respiratory viruses. Then there were stomach bugs, and I had a sinus infection. I started antibiotics and a yeast infection. Ugh, I’m just done. Since I last wrote, I’ve started selling mugs that can be printed on-demand from a site called Printful. I’m selling them on Etsy for now but hope to expand to Amazon soon.

In House News today, we’re getting a new valve for our toilet tank to replace the noisy one. It arrived today, and I announced loud enough for C to hear, “Oh good, now I can start flushing paper towels again.” I wish I had a pic of the face she made when I announced that. All 7-year-olds have been told the dangers of flushing paper towels, and she seemed both horrified and amazed that I (a 40-year-old woman had committed this sin.

Today, I also stumbled upon the story of Pearl Curran (another infamous Pearl!) who wrote stories she believed were commented to her from a ghost named Patience Worth. So, now I’m digging for books on that interesting topic!


Page 2

In the mid-80s, my uncle brought me a Steiff teddy bear that he got while traveling overseas. It became my favorite, and I wouldn’t go anywhere without it, including the convenience store. On one store trip, my mom encouraged me to leave the bear outside in the stroller so that I wouldn’t accidentally leave it in the store. After shopping, we came back outside, and the bear was gone. Our best guess is that someone knew it was a collector’s item and stole it.

It occurred to me a few days ago that, because it was a Steiff bear, I could probably find another one that was the same style from that time period. Going on the photo I had above, I guessed that it was a number 0205. Coincidentally (?) my birthday is 02/05.

I was surprised to find a few of them on eBay and ordered one that was more worn than the others. It looked truly loved. I’m looking forward to its arrival.


I’m also just ever so slightly hopeful that it has a little blue spot hidden in the fur on its belly where I tried to draw on a belly-button with a blue marker when I was about 4-years-old. Wouldn’t that be the find of a lifetime?!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page